In the style of the Spencer Davies Group….

3 Sep

A few years ago I would have never have thought that I would be able to run a half marathon…not even a half marathon, if I had made a mile I would have patted myself on the back with such glee that an onlooker may have thought I was giving myself the Heimlich manoeuvre. I made a lot of excuses as to why I couldn’t exercise but the long and short of it was that I was a teenager and I was lazy.

Long story short, it all got a bit too much and after a spell with weight watchers I got on the healthy train (because really I had never been on it in the first place) and I am now happy to say that fitness is my absolute obsession and I hate going a day without the gym. Make your own assumptions about my mental state now.

Anyway this general joie de vivre has lead me to sign up for a half marathon this October in London. Run to the Beat takes place on the 28th of October and was set up by Nike a few years ago. Starting and finishing at the O2, at every mile a stage is set up with bands and musicians to will you on… If the music is good I guess it will make you happy and so you’ll run faster…if its awful…well you’ll just want to get it over and done with so I suppose its a win win situation whichever way you look at it!

I will be running this race along with Sully for the fantastic charity Nordoff Robbins, who provide music therapy and training for anyone in need. They are truly fantastic and well respected within the world of music and charity work alike. It doesn’t take a genius to realise that music is restorative for our souls. We all have favourite songs, songs that make us angry, songs were a mere sounding of the first few chords will have us in a gibbering mess (if you’re asking mine is ‘Especially for You’ by the incredible Kylie and Jason of Scott and Charlene fame). It stirs our emotions and soothes are souls and that is completely what Nordoff Robbins are about. They want to open up the emotions of those individuals who are experiencing difficulties with life. You can read all about some of their fantastic work here.

Now its over to you because of course to support this fantastic cause I need to raise money so I really think it would be grand for you all to visit my justgiving page and donate what you can I may even regale you with a song if you do!

www.justgiving.com/elisarunstothebeat

 

Leave a comment