7 Feb

A lovely new blog from my friend.

the best laid plans

It struck me that this was the perfect title for my blog as it represents where I began, where I’ve been and where I am going.  Let me explain.

In 1785, the poet Robert Burns wrote To A Mouse. One of the final lines of this poem is (in the original Scots dialect) “the best laid plans o’ mice an’ men gang aft agley”.  This translates to “the best laid plans of mice and men often go awry”.

I was born in 1978 in Edinburgh, but relocated shortly after to Galloway where I was raised until I left home aged 17.  Burns was an Ayrshireman with strong links to Galloway and as a result we learned many of his poems at school.  I spent weeks during my primary school years in Newton Stewart learning to recite this piece with a faultless local accent. It was around the statue to Robert…

View original post 332 more words

Leave a Reply

